



# VIRTUAL MEETING OF COUNCILS ON ECONOMIC POLICY 9 JUNE 2020

13.00 – 16.00 (CEST: Berlin, Paris, Brussels, The Hague, Copenhagen, Madrid, Rome)

07.00 – 10.00 (EDT: Washington D.C., Ottawa) 14.00 – 17.00 (EEST: Helsinki, OESZ: Athens)

20.00 – 23.00 (KST: Seoul) 12.00 – 15.00 (IST: Dublin)

#### **13.00 Welcome** by

Philippe Martin (Council of Economic Analysis, France) and Lars P. Feld (German Council of Economic Experts, Germany)

Introduction round

### 13.20 Economic policies after (partly) lifting COVID-19 containment measures

Chair: Lars P. Feld (German Council of Economic Experts, Germany) (5 impulses á 10min and 30min discussion)

- Tomas J. Philipson (Council of Economic Advisors, USA)
- Joonkyung Ha (National Economic Advisory Council, South Korea)
- Cristina Herrero Sanchez (Autoridad Independiente de Responsabilidad Fiscal AIRef, Spain)
- Camille Landais and Stéphane Carcillo (Council of Economic Analysis, France)
- Monika Schnitzer and Volker Wieland (German Council of Economic Experts, Germany)

General discussion with participants

## 14.40 (Planned) Fiscal stimulus packages to counteract the economic fallout due to COVID-19

Chair: Philippe Martin (Council of Economic Analysis, France) (4 impulses á 10min and 25min discussion)

- Niels Thygesen (European Fiscal Board)
- Pekka Sinko (Economic Council, Finland)
- Sebastian Barnes (Irish Fiscal Advisory Council, Ireland)
- Yves Giroux (Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer, Canada)

General discussion with participants

15.45 Discussion about possible next exchanges and possible Joint Statement

16.00 End





#### **PARTICIPANTS**

Institution	Name	Function
CENTRAL ECONOMIC COUNCIL, BELGIAN	Chantal Kegels	Vice-president
NATIONAL PRODUCTIVITY BOARD	Siska Vandecandelaere	Member
Belgium	Catherine Fuss	Member
OFFICE OF THE PARLIAMENTARY BUDGET	Yves Giroux	Parliamentary Budget Officer
OFFICER	Jason Jacques	Director
Canada	Chris Matier	Director
	Tim Scholz	Senior Economist Analyst
DANISH ECONOMIC COUNCIL Denmark	Morten Holm	Head of Division
EUROPEAN FISCAL BOARD EU	Niels Thygesen	Chairman
ECONOMIC COUNCIL Finland	Pekka Sinko	Secretary General
COUNCIL OF ECONOMIC ANALYSIS	Philippe Martin	Chairman
France	Camille Landais	Member
	Stéphane Carcillo	Member
	Hélène Paris	Secretary General
FRANCO-GERMAN COUNCIL OF ECONOMIC EXPERTS	Christoph M. Schmidt	Co-Chairman
France/ Germany GERMAN COUNCIL OF ECONOMIC EXPERTS	Lars P. Feld	Chairman
Germany	Monika Schnitzer	Member
	Volker Wieland	Member
	Wolf Heinrich Reuter	Secretary General
PARLIAMENTARY BUDGET OFFICE Greece	Frangiskos Koutentakis	Coordinator
IRISH FISCAL ADVISORY COUNCIL Ireland	Sebastian Barnes	Acting Chairperson
UFFICIO PARLAMENTARE DI BILANCIO (UPB) Italy	Giuseppe Pisauro	Chairman
BUREAU FOR ECONOMIC POLICY ANALYSIS (CPB) Netherlands	Marcel Timmer	Deputy Director
NATIONAL ECONOMIC ADVISORY COUNCIL	LEE Jaymin	Vice Chair
(NEAC)	SONG E. Young	Member
South Korea	HA Joonkyung	Member
AUTORIDAD INDEPENDIENTE DE	Cristina Herrero Sanchez	President
RESPONSABILIDAD FISCAL (AIREF)	Esther Gordo	Director of Economic Analysis
Spain	María Fernández	Chief of Staff
COUNCIL OF ECONOMIC ADVISORS USA	Tomas J. Philipson	Chairman